Skip navigation

Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate

NOCN is excited to announce the upcoming launch of our NEW Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate which has now received approval from Skills for Care and Ofqual.

Scheduled for release in June 2024, this qualification is being developed in alignment with the Department of Health and Social Care’s (DHSC) initiative to elevate standards and enhance professional outcomes across the care workforce.

This initiative will allocate up to £53.91 million in funding from DHSC to support 37,000 individuals ages 19 and above employed in direct adult social care roles to undertake the new qualification between June 2024 and March 2025.

What will the qualification cover?

The NOCN certificate is being developed to align closely with a newly crafted specification by Skills for Care. This specification is grounded in the existing Care Certificate Standards, ensuring consistency and relevance in the content and delivery of the qualification.

Introducing this new qualification aims to address the issues of lack of portability and standardisation in how the Care Certificate standards are delivered. Currently, 54% of direct care workers do not have a level 2 or above qualification. The Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate aims to provide a baseline standard and acknowledges the professionalism and dedication of our care workforce.

Additionally, the Learning Outcomes in the Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate have been enhanced to include awareness of learning disabilities and autism. These updates align with the Core Capabilities Framework for supporting individuals with a learning disability and autistic people, ensuring consistency and relevance in training.

Who is it suitable for?

Under the DHSC’s current plans, all employed care staff aged 19 and above, including staff who already have a relevant qualification will be able to complete the new Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate qualification. Additionally, valid recognition of prior learning (RPL) and any other reliable learning and assessment undertaken either in induction or via time spent in the role could be used as evidence towards completing the qualification.

Why choose NOCN?

  • 15 units in total, with eLearning recourses, learner workbooks and teaching materials available for each unit
  • Clear guidelines on assessment methods and recognition of prior learning (RPL) opportunities for learners
  • Access to a range of resources and materials to support the implementation of RPL within the qualification
  • Signposting learners to relevant websites and learning materials throughout the qualification to encourage continuous learning and development as well as embedding functional skills, sustainability, and digital skills


*Offer ends 31st October, terms and conditions apply