Skip navigation

NOCN_Cskills Awards Level 3 Diploma in Bricklaying (Construction)

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Structure & Units
  • Downloads
  • Funding

Qualification Overview

Total Qualification Time (TQT)
Award Code
Minimum Age
Level 3
Registration Start Date
Current Tariff

The Level 3 Diploma in Bricklaying qualification has been developed for achievement in a training environment which means you do not need to be employed to undertake this qualification.

This qualification enables you, the learner, to demonstrate and recognise your skills, knowledge and understanding so you can work as a Bricklayer within the construction industry.

You will be assessed against a set of performance and knowledge statements which have been derived from National Occupational Standards for your occupational area. You will be trained and assessed by an occupationally competent and qualified trainer whose job is to help you complete your qualification.

This qualification supports the learner to attain enabling, fundamental and transferable practical skills with associated underpinning knowledge.

This qualification can be taken as part of an apprenticeship framework, if desired. This qualification sits within the Construction Apprenticeship Framework in England and Wales.

This can be taken alongside the following qualifications in contribution towards achievement of a Level 3 Advanced Apprenticeship in Construction Building -Trowel Occupations -Bricklaying:

-Level 3 NVQ Diploma in Trowel Occupations -Bricklaying

For further information about the Construction Apprenticeship Frameworks, please see website:

The purpose of the qualification is to equip a learner with specialist knowledge and skills, enabling entry into employment or to progress in Bricklaying within the construction industry. Please note that to meet DfE requirements, learners are permitted two resits only for each multiple choice knowledge test (see the Qualification Assessment & Grading section in the Details tab for further details about the tests).

This qualification comprises the following 4 mandatory units;

-Health, safety and welfare in construction and associated industries
-Analysing technical information, quantities and communication with others
-Analysing the construction industry and built environment
-Repair and maintain masonry structures.

This qualification also comprises 2 units from the following optional unit group;

-Construct chimneys and fireplace structures
-Construct complex masonry structures
-Construct decorative features.

Qualification Details

Qualification Structure

Min Credits : 95

Description: To achieve this qualification a minimum of 95 credits need to be attained. This comprises the 4 mandatory units plus 2 units from the following optional unit group.


  • Overview
  • Details
  • Structure & Units
  • Downloads
  • Funding